top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassie Safranske

WHERE I AM STAYING

Updated: Apr 10, 2020

For my study abroad experience, I had to find my own housing accommodations. The University of New South Wales does not accommodate international students because there are just too many. International students have a select number of on-campus housing accommodations they can apply for or can choose to live off-campus. I chose to live off campus because on-campus housing was either too pricy or required a lease that extended past my stay. At NAU’s study abroad orientation, a student who had gone to Australia suggested looking at Air BnB for housing. I ended up finding an apartment at a decent price in Randwick, a suburb of Sydney. Randwick is a nice residential area that is close to everything. The city, beaches, parks, shopping centers, and my university are all walking distance or a short bus ride away. The apartment has two bedrooms, one bathroom, a kitchen, and a living area. It is fully furnished and equipped with dishware, towels, appliances, and décor. My flatmate is a girl from NAU named Rebecca. We talked over the phone about finding housing together but did not meet until we both arrived in Sydney. Although we just met, we get along very well and do almost everything together. The apartment is unique because is is not in a complex, but instead the entrance is located next door to the kitchen of a pizza restaurant and the bedrooms are up the stairs above the restaurant. We have become quite acquainted with the workers already. Our apartment is not the nicest and has some flaws, but it is worth the price and fits our needs.

Our apartment is conveniently located near popular attractions such as Centennial Park and Bondi Beach.

I put up some pictures of my friends and family to make myself feel more at home. I also have my stuffed koala bear that my mom gave me before I left.






19 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page