top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassie Safranske

SKILLS I LEARNED ABROAD THAT WILL INFLUENCE LIFE AFTER GRADUATION

Studying abroad has taught me many lessons and improved skills that will be useful in my future academics, career, and life in general. A huge skill that I improved on while studying abroad is self-confidence. I overcame a big fear of traveling by myself across the world and living in a different country and now I am much more confident in myself and what I can accomplish. Overcoming this fear has taught me not to let fear control any aspect of my life; to not dwell on the ‘what-ifs’ and the unknown. I need self-confidence more than ever as I am about to enter my senior year of college and soon begin a new chapter of life continuing my education in hopes to become a physical therapist.

Other skills I improved on abroad include personability, communication, and flexibility. These skills are crucial when working as a healthcare professional and will translate into my work as a PT. I did not know anyone abroad, so I had to make all new friends and therefore make many first impressions and be personable. When working as a PT you work with a lot of different patients and you have to make a good impression, so they feel comfortable with you. Communication is important in all aspects of life; personal or professional. Living in a new country, you have to quickly learn the different slang, body language, and tone of the locals in order to best communicate with them. I have always been a ‘go-with-the-flow” type of person, so flexibility comes natural to me. If you are a Type A personality, you might have a hard time studying abroad because the only structure you really have is your academics, the rest is very unpredictable. Studying abroad has emphasized my flexibility and adaptability which is a skill that will be important in my career and other personal aspects of my life.

Studying abroad has encouraged me to do a lot of reflection and introspection. As I go on through my life, I continue to improve on my self-awareness and studying abroad has really amplified that for me. I think knowing yourself, your skills, your weaknesses, is really powerful and can make you very successful in the future. I will continue to manage the skills I learned while abroad and will take them with me into life after graduation.




32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page