top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassie Safranske

WHY YOU SHOULD STUDY ABROAD IN AUSTRALIA

Most people questioned why I wanted to study abroad in Australia. My main reason was because it has always been a dream of mine to go there. When I was younger, I would obsess over Australia and Australian celebrities and try to master the accent. Another big reason was that the primary language was English. At least for me personally, living in a different country for months without knowing anyone was daunting enough, adding a language barrier was something I wasn’t particularly interested in. Another reason I chose Australia was because I don’t think my family would ever vacation there, so studying abroad might’ve been my only chance to go.

Australia is such a beautiful country with so many different things to do. Sydney and the surrounding suburbs offer so much variety. If you want the beach, hit the coast. If you want the city, head towards the harbor. If you want the mountains, drive an hour west. Basically, if you want to feel like you’re on vacation while studying abroad, Sydney is the way to go.The people are incredibly friendly especially to tourists and international students. One of my favorite things to do was talking to the locals. The locals will tell you the best places to go so listen to them! My favorite thing to talk to the locals about was comparing Australia to the US, especially our different slang.

I don’t think you can go wrong studying anywhere in Australia. The whole country has a lot of amazing things to offer. Just do your research! The few things from my research that really attracted me to Sydney was just how iconic the city was, the Blue Mountains, the big city life, and famous beaches. I was also considering studying aboard in the Northern Territory to be closer to Southeast Asia for potential travel. You will find that you and friends you will meet will want to travel everywhere around Australia and also to places like Tasmania, Indonesia, and New Zealand. At least for me, I didn’t have enough time to go everywhere because I was only going to be there for 3 months, so I had to choose my top places to go. If you are going to travel, make sure to give yourself time before and after school ends because it becomes hard to travel during the term period.


Australia will now always have a place in my heart and I cannot wait to go back one day!


https://www.australia.com/en-us This website is VERY useful if you are planning a trip.



38 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page