top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassie Safranske

FOOD IN AUSTRALIA

There are a lot of unique foods that define Australia that I knew I wanted to try during my study abroad trip. I did some minor research on what foods you should try when visiting Australia and I wrote a few down. Before arriving, I knew I wanted to try fish and chips , Vegemite, and Tim Tams for sure. When I arrived in Australia, my list grew larger as I spoke to locals and learned more about the cuisine. Apparently, kangaroo is a popular dish in Australia, and I had no idea. A local told me that kangaroos are to Australia as deer are to the United States and if people don’t hunt them then they will overpopulate. I had mixed feelings about it and it felt slightly wrong, but I added kangaroo to my list of foods to try. Almost every restaurant or pub I went to had “chicken schnitty” (short for chicken schnitzel) and “chicken parm” (short for chicken parmigiana) on the menu. I’ve had chicken parmigiana in the states, but I still wanted to try the Australian version, so I added both chicken dishes to the list. At orientation for UNSW I got a mini Australian culture lesson and learned about some signature foods I should try including emu, fairy bread, and pavlova. So, my list ended up being:

  • Kangaroo

  • Tim Tams

  • Vegemite

  • Fairy bread

  • Chicken schnitty

  • Chicken parm

  • Fish n chips

  • Emu

  • Pavlova

MY AUSTRALIAN FOOD REVIEW

Kangaroo- Reminded me of steak. Wasn’t the biggest fan.

Tim Tams- Tried the chocolate and chewy caramel ones. So good.

Vegemite- Didn’t love it, didn’t hate it. You MUST put a super thin layer on buttered toast or else its awful.

Fairy Bread- Didn’t get to try it. Was expecting cafes to sell it, but it seems like it’s more of something you make at home.

Chicken Schnitty- Had a chicken schnitty sandwhich and it was so good.

Chicken Parm- a lot crispier than served in the US. Served with chips and coleslaw instead of pasta and tomato sauce.

Fish n Chips- I liked this better than I thought I would. I’m kind of iffy when it comes to fish but the way this is fried makes it so good. Eat with tartar sauce.

Emu- Reminded me of steak also but chewier than kangaroo. Not a fan.

Pavolva- Didn’t get to try

Meat Pie-Didn’t get to try.

FOODS I TRIED THAT WEREN’T ON MY ORIGINAL LIST

Crocodile- Tasted like flavorful chicken. Really good.

Cadbury’s Carmello Koala and Freddo- These are chocolates shaped as koalas and frogs and they are really good.

Turkish bread- really sweet bread. Can be eaten on its own but usually is served filled with chicken, cheese, and spinach or Nutella. I miss this.

FOODS THAT HAVE DIFFERENT NAMES IN AUSTRALIA

French fries = Chips

Arugula = Rocket

Red Bell Pepper = Capsicum

Shrimp = Prawns

Cookies = Biscuits




7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page