top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassie Safranske

ADJUSTING TO LIFE BACK HOME

Due to lack of flights and prices rising, I left Australia two days after being told I had to return home. I had already kind of processed the idea of going home since a lot of my friends from study abroad had already left or were planning their trips home, but part of me was still in denial that the trip I have been planning for so long was coming to an end so soon. Becca and I both agreed it didn’t hit us that we were leaving but that we would probably get emotional once we board our plane home. I tried my best to keep an optimistic attitude although there was little to be optimistic about. My family had only left from visiting a few days prior, but I was still excited to see my mom mostly because I was upset about the situation. After a long journey home, my brother picked me up from the airport. Once I walked into my house all the emotions really hit me. My mom was excited to see me of course and I held back tears as she hugged me. My dad had been painting my room for me while I was gone and was still in the process of doing so, so I was going to have to stay in the guest room until he had the chance to finish and move all my stuff back. I went up to the guest room to put my stuff down, laid on the bed, and immediately started tearing up. My mom soon came in the room and asked if I was okay and I just lost it. She stayed with me for a while and comforted me. My friends were sad for me that I had to come home due to the circumstance, but they were excited to see me.

My first week back my sleep schedule was all messed up because I had to adjust to the new time zone. I was also sick when I left so I was very fatigued and was sleeping a lot. Coming from such a high from being abroad in Australia doing such amazing things to having to come back to such a low of being in quarantine has been really tough on me mentally. I take comfort in knowing that everyone in the world is being negatively affected by COVID-19 and I am not the only one. It makes me reflect and be grateful for the time I did get to spend in Australia.


Online school hasn't been too bad and I am able to work online from home so that has been nice. I spend a lot of time on Facetime or Zoom talking with friends. Life is just really weird right now and its hard to fully comprehend what's going on. Hoping to see the end of this real soon.


My quarantine hobbies include calling my friends, coloring, and hanging out with my dog

6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page